Arie Hoogerbrugge
2 min readMar 4, 2021

Peggy’s Cove Lighthouse

Peggy’s Point Lighthouse

This is a photo taken of Peggy’s Point Lighthouse from the world famous Peggy’s Cove in Nova Scotia. This photo was taken on January 29, 2020 heading north on Hwy 333 (also known as Peggy’s Cove Road) around lunchtime. I had already left the village heading north and noticed the photo opportunity from the main road.

Like most people I had heard of Peggy’s Cove but I had not expectations of what to anticipate. Arriving in January by bicycle I was not surprised to find the place vacant of tourists. I had arrived the evening before and it was quite windy and cold.

I really appreciate this photo because of the contrast and color of the whitish rocks against the vegetation, water and sky. I would never have expected the area to be as beautiful as it was. The area overall made me think more of the far north than Atlantic Canada. With the trees so small and spread out and so much exposed rock it made me think where the tree line transitions with Arctic tundra.

While in Atlantic Canada I had made a point of visiting and photographing as many lighthouses as possible. Peggy’s Cove is 45 kilometers from Halifax and then another 26 kilometers back to the main highway. I am so glad that I took the time to bike there. It would have been so easy to make excuses and bypass the area. Peggy’s Cove will definitely stand out as a highlight visit in Nova Scotia

A bonus photo of Peggy’s Point Lighthouse
Arie Hoogerbrugge

I help people transition and achieve their dreams to escape the traditional 9–5 life.. www.safariarie.ca